Category: Jacques Anquetil

Quote of the Day April 11, 2016

Jacques Anquetil



Jacques Anquetil (January 8, 1934 – November 18, 1987) is often considered the most perfect pedaling machine in the sport’s history. His flat back, toes pointed down time trial position was emulated by generations of cyclists.

He was the first rider to win the Tour de France five times and was the first to win all three Grand Tours. His style of containing his opponents in the mountains and smashing them in the time trial led some to believe his climbing skills were not world class. They misunderstood Anquetil, who saw no point in racing harder than necessary to win a race. In 1963 the Tour organization reduced the time trialing and designed the mountains stages to favor climbers. In response Anquetil delivered a climbing masterclass.

Anquetil’s time trialing prowess allowed him to enter and win the Grand Prix des Nations (sometimes called the world championship of time trialing) nine times, starting with his first victory at the age of 19 in 1953.

Much of Anquetil’s career was enlivened by his rivalry with Raymond Poulidor. While Poulidor was generally outsmarted by Anquetil, Poulidor remained the French race fans’ favourite.


  • 1953: Grand Prix de Nations, GP de Lugano
  • 1954: Grand Prix de Nations, GP de Lugano
  • 1955: Grand Prix de Nations
  • 1956: Grand Prix de Nations, World Hour Record
  • 1957: Tour de France with 4 stage wins, Paris-Nice, Grand Prix de Nations
  • 1958: 4 Days of Dunkirk, Grand Prix de Nations
  • 1959: 4 Days of Dunkirk, GP de Lugano, Critérium des As
  • 1960: Giro d’Italia with 2 stage wins, Critérium des As
  • 1961: Tour de France with 2 stage wins, Critérium National, Paris-Nice, Grand Prix de Nations, GP de Lugano
  • 1962: Tour de France with 2 stage wins, Trofeo Baracchi (with Rudi Altig)
  • 1963: Tour de France with 4 stage wins, Vuelta a España, Critérium National, Paris-Nice, Dauphiné Libéré, Critérium des As
  • 1964: Tour de France with 4 stage wins, Giro d’Italia, Gent-Wevelgem
  • 1965: Bordeaux-Paris, Critérium National, Paris-Nice, Grand Prix de Nations, GP de Lugano, Trofeo Baracchi (with Jean Stablinski), Critérium es As
  • 1966: Liège-Bastogne-Liège, Paris-Nice, Tour of Sardinia, Grand Prix des Nations
  • 1967: Critérium National, Volta a Catalunya
  • 1968: Trofeo Baracchi (with Felice Gimondi)
  • 1969: Vuelta al Pais Vasco


    • 1953 – 1955: La Perle-Hutchinson
    • 1956 – 1957: Helyett-Potin
    • 1958: Helyett-Potin-Hutchinson
    • 1959: Helyett-Fynsec
    • 1960: Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB
    • 1961: Helyet-Fynsec-Hutchinson
    • 1962: St. Raphaël-Helyett-Hutchinson
    • 1963: St. Raphaël-Gitane-Géminiani
    • 1964: St Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop
    • 1965: Ford France-Gitane
    • 1966: Ford France-Hutchinson
    • 1967 – 1969: Bic


© 2020 Ciclismo Passion

This site cultivated by Ideas In BloomUp ↑